Article Image

Week 7 - Double Hit

Rule / Situation of the week

Published: November 24, 2014

Welcome back! Last week in Pittsburgh, when the New York Rangers were visiting, the fans and the viewers got to witness a wild finish! The Rangers thought they had won the game in the shootout and were back in their dressing room celebrating when the officials brought them back on the ice to resume the shootout as their last shot (Dan Boyle’s attempt) was declared “NO goal” after a video review! The infraction happened so quick and so close to the net that everybody in the building including the on-ice officials missed it, but the Situation Room in Toronto came to the rescue! To make the whole situation even more bizarre, the Penguins ended up winning the game on the next round of shooters!

 

See the explanation below from the Situation Room in Toronto on that play.

Video Review: NYR @ PIT - Shootout

In the shootout of the New York Rangers/Pittsburgh Penguins game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck rebounded off the post before it deflected off Dan Boyle's stick and into the Pittsburgh net. According to Rule 24.2, "No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind." No goal New York Rangers.

Click here to see the video: http://www.nhl.com/ice/blogpost.htm?id=33821

 

NHL Rule 24.2 states: (on a penalty shot or shootout attempt)

“The puck must be kept in motion towards the opponent’s goal line and once it is shot, the play shall be considered complete. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete.”

 

So on this play as you guys could see on the video, the puck after being shot, hit the goal post and then hit the shooter’s stick again before entering the net. This is a double hit (rebound) and therefore the goal had to be waved off.

Now let see some different situations that could happen during a penalty shot or shootout attempt that could either result in a good goal or in a disallowed goal depending on the rules.

 

SITUATION #1

During a Penalty Shot attempt (or Shootout) the shooter hits the post, the puck goes off the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal. Is this legal?

ANSWER:

Yes. No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal). Rule 24.2

 

SITUATION #2

During a Penalty Shot, before the shooter gets his shot off, the goalkeeper poke checks the puck causing the puck to go straight up in the air. The puck then deflects off the leg of the oncoming shooter and into the goal. Is this a good goal?

ANSWER:

No. Rule 24.2 states that no goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind. Once the goalkeeper makes a play on the puck, the only way a goal can be scored is if the pucks momentum continues over the goal line with no intervention from the shooter, otherwise it is no goal.

 

SITUATION #3

On a Shootout or Penalty Shot attempt, the shooter is poised to take his shot as he gets to about the hash marks of the face-off circles. He fans on the shot and doesn’t shoot it (but his actions look as if he tried to shoot it). The puck continues towards the goalkeeper, the player regains the puck and shoots it and ultimately scores. Does this goal count?

ANSWER:

Yes, this goal shall count. The puck was not actually shot. The puck remained in motion towards the goal. There was no rebound. Rule 24.2

 

SITUATION #4

During a Shootout attempt (or Penalty Shot) the shooter, on his way towards the goal, over-skates the puck. The puck continues to slide towards the goal and he loops back and picks up the puck and continues towards the goal for his attempt. Is this legal?

ANSWER:

Yes. As long as the puck does not come to a complete stop, he may retrieve the puck and continue towards the goal in his attempt to score. Rule 24.2

 

 

See you next Monday!

 

Every Monday during the regular season schedule, we will explain in this column some bizarre or uncommon game situations/rules. Hockey is a particular game when it comes to the rulebook. Hockey officials need to know their rules but more important they have to know the interpretation and application of them! We will see in the next several months, in this series of articles, that a rule hassometimes two different applications depending on the situation that occurred on the ice. This is not theofficialsdeciding on the outcome of the gameshere, by deciding to apply or not the rule, but is rather the interpretation and the application of that rule along with itsintent that dictatesthe final decision made by the officials on the ice! This is not a column to promote or defend our officials but rather an educational tool for all hockey fans and hockey officials to acquire a better understanding of the game of hockey! So let’s start to see if you know your NHL rules! Wewill help you better understand some decisions made by NHL officials some nights and hopefully making you better “couch” referee!



Related articles

The NHLOA (National Hockey League Officials' Association), was born in 1969 out of a need to improve working conditions, salaries and other benefits for officials of the National Hockey League.
...Read more...