Rule / Situation of the week
Welcome back! The NHL season is off to a good start and we have already seen plenty of bizarre plays happening in the games played so far! In two separate games last week, while one team had a delayed penalty signaled against them, one of their players who was in his defending zone, gained possession and control of the puck and as the whistle was blown for the delayed penalty, that player shot the puck over the glass and into the crowd. Should the referees here, assess an extra penalty on this play under rule 63.2 for shooting the puck over the glass from the defensive zone?
The answer is NO! Since the whistle is blown to stop play as soon as the faulty team gains possession and control of the puck, no additional penalty is assessed here for shooting the puck over the glass into the crowd. The play was stopped on a legal play and before the puck went into the crowd. NOTE: If the player who shot the puck over the glass into the crowd did it intentionally as a way of disputing the ruling of the official, then the referees would have to assess this player a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct and also a game misconduct penalty under the same rule. See rule 39.5 (v) below.
Rule 39.5 (v) Abuse of Officials– A minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct plus a game misconduct shall be imposed on a player who throws his stick or any part thereof, or any other piece of equipment or object outside the playing area in protest of an official’s decision.
SIMILIAR SITUTATIONS BUT WITH DIFFERENT RESULTS!
Rule 27.8 Goalkeeper’s Penalties – Restricted Area
A delayed minor penalty is signaled against Team A. The Team A goalkeeper leaves his crease and plays the puck in the corner within the restricted area in order to get the stoppage of play. Is the goalkeeper also assessed a minor penalty for playing the puck in the restricted area?
Yes, the goalkeeper shall be assessed a minor penalty for delay of game for playing the puck illegally in the restricted area, in addition to the originally signaled penalty to Team A. (Rule 27.8) The rationale here is that Team A was able to secure a whistle with an illegal play therefore preventing the other team from playing more time while their goalie has been removed for an extra attacker during the delayed penalty.
*** The same rationale would be applied if the Team A goalkeeper would have played the puck over the center ice red line to secure the stoppage during a delayed penalty against his team. The determining factor here is the location of the puck and not the goalkeeper’s skates in order to assess a penalty to the goalkeeper for playing the puck over the red line.
Rule 67.4 Handling Puck – Penalty Shot
The Referee has signaled a delayed minor penalty to the DEFENDING team. During a scramble in the crease area, the Referee sees a defending player cover the puck with his hand and sweep the puck out of the crease. Does he award a Penalty Shot?
Yes, the Referee shall award a Penalty Shot in addition to the originally signaled penalty to the defending team. The original minor penalty must be served regardless of whether or not the shot is successful. (Rule 63.5 & 67.4)
Similar to the situation above, but this time the Referee has signaled a delayed minor penalty to the ATTACKING team. During a scramble in the crease area, the Referee sees a defending player cover the puck with his hand and sweep the puck out of the crease. Does he award a Penalty Shot even though the attacking players couldn’t score a goal as the whistle would have been blown when they would have gained possession and control of the puck?
Yes, the Referee shall award a Penalty Shot to the attacking team. The attacking team will also be assessed the original delayed minor penalty. (Rule 63.5 & 67.4) Even tough the attacking team couldn’t put the puck in the net themselves while the delayed penalty was signaled, there’s always a possibility that the defending team scores in their own net, especially when the puck is bouncing in the crease, preventing then a scoring chance for the attacking team.
*** On this same play, if the defending team goalkeepers had been replaced for an extra attacker when their player cover the puck in the crease, the Referee shall award a goal to the attacking team here! One of the only rare occasions where a goal is scored by a team being signaled for a delayed penalty!
See you next Monday!
Every Monday for the next 24 weeks (during the regular season schedule) we will explain in this column some bizarre or uncommon game situations/rules. Hockey is a particular game when it comes to the rulebook. Hockey officials need to know their rules but more important they have to know the interpretation and application of them! We will see in the next several months, in this series of articles, that a rule has sometimes two different applications depending on the situation that occurred on the ice. This is not theofficialsdeciding on the outcome of the gameshere, by deciding to apply or not the rule, but is rather the interpretation and the application of that rule along with itsintent that dictatesthe final decision made by the officials on the ice! This is not a column to promote or defend our officials but rather an educational tool for all hockey fans and hockey officials to acquire a better understanding of the game of hockey! So let’s start to see if you know your NHL rules! Wewill help you better understand some decisions made by NHL officials some nights and hopefully making you better “couch” referee!