2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs – 1st Round

2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs

NHL Officials for the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

April 9th, 2018

The National Hockey League on Monday released the complete list of referees and linesmen selected for the upcoming Stanley Cup Playoffs that get under way this Wednesday night.

The NHL has 34 Full-Time Referees and 34 Full-Time Linesmen during the regular season. Only a portion of these officials gets to work the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Below is the number of officials needed for each round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

1st ROUND: 20 Referees (+2 Standby Referees) & 20 Linesmen (+2 Standby Linesmen)

2nd ROUND: 12 Referees (+2 Standby Referees) & 12 Linesmen (+2 Standby Linemen)

3rd ROUND: 8 Referees (+1 Standby Referee) & 8 Linesmen (+1 Standby Linesman)

STANLEY CUP FINALS: 4 Referees & 4 Linesmen


Here’s the selected officials for this year’s first round:


Francis Charron, Gord Dwyer, Eric Furlatt, Trevor Hanson, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Steve Kozari, Wes McCauley, Brad Meier, Dan O’Halloran, Dan O’Rourke, Tim Peel, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Francois St.Laurent, Kelly Sutherland, Ian Walsh & Brad Watson. Stanby Referees: Jon McIsaac & Justin St.Pierre



Derek Amell, Steve Barton, Devin Berg, David Brisebois, Scott Cherrey, Michel Cormier, Greg Devorski, Ryan Gibbons, Darren Gibbs, Trent Knorr, Brad Kovachik, Matt MacPherson, Steve Miller, Kiel Murchison, Brian Murphy, Jonny Murray, Derek Nansen, Pierre Racicot, Mark Shewchyk & Tony Sericolo. Standy Linesmen: Ryan Daisy & Brian Mach


The NHLOA would like to congratulate the officials selected to work the 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs.