NHLOA Alumni
Hockey Hall of Fame Logo

NHL Official: 1971 to 2004

Birthplace: Glen Christie, ON

Regular Season: 2500 Games (Linesman)

Playoffs: 426 Games

Stanley Cup Finals: 20

Hall of Fame Induction: 2008

Ray Scapinello

Bill Hay, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors and Jim Gregory, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee announced today the 2008 inductees to the Hockey Hall of Fame. Amongst them, former NHL Linesman Ray Scapinello will be inducted in the Referee/Linesmen category.

Scamp [his longtime nickname] began officiating as a 20-year old in Guelph before joining the ranks of the NHL in 1971, the first of a 33-year career as a NHL Linesman. He worked his first NHL game on October 17, 1971 in Buffalo. He worked his 2000th game on February 26th, 1997 in Toronto and ended his career where he started it in Buffalo on April 2nd, 2004, officiating in his 2500th NHL regular season game.

Amongst his many career highlights, he took part in 3 All-Star games, 426 Stanley Cup Playoffs games and 20 Stanley Cup Finals.

One of his most amazing achievement is that in all those years, Scamp never missed a game. Considering the nature of the job, it is just mind numbing. And until his last lap on the ice, that fire and passion for the game he loved never waivered.

The entire NHLOA would like to congratulate Ray “Scamp” Scapinello for his outstanding career and his well-deserved induction into the Hockey Hall of Fame.


First NHL Game

October 17, 1971

Northstars Logo
Buffalo Sabres

2000th Game

February 26, 1997

Washington Capitals
Toronto Maple Leafs

Hall of Fame Induction


Hockey Hall of Fame

All-Star Games

2000 -- TORONTO, ON

Toronto All Star Game

Air Canada Center
February 06, 2000

1980 -- DETROIT, MI

Detroit All Star Game

Joe Louis Arena
February 05, 1980

1984 -- New Jersey

New Jersey All Star Game

Brendan Byrne Arena
January 31, 1984

Stanley Cup Finals

2004 Stanley Cup

Tampa Bay Lightning
Calgary Flames

2000 Stanley Cup

New Jersey Devils
Dallas Stars

1999 Stanley Cup

Dallas Stars
Buffalo Sabres

1996 Stanley Cup

Colorado Avalanche
Florida Panthers

1995 Stanley Cup

New Jersey Devils
Detroit Redwings


1998 Nagano Olympics

Nagano Olympics